Bakealong- Fair game

baking, gbbo, recipes

Ok so I cheated.  

Well strictly, I bent the rules.

But I made up the rules, soo…

Chess is a game. The Signature challenge was game pie. So a chess pie is legit. (And taking in a pheasant and guinea fowl to uni to share would have been both impractical and unpopular).

I thought Victorian week of Bakeoff was bloody difficult to bake along to. Unlike Flora, I’m not well versed in cooking pheasant (oh Flora, you are literally the most posh person that ever existed). The technical challenge, a fruit cake, with a tennis court design on the top, was bizarre and I know from Christmas cake experience- marzipan and fondant iced cakes aren’t that well thought of. Particularly marzipan (almond extract- yuck).
So surely, the Showstopper would be more achievable?
A complex cake with a perfectly wobbly bavarois (creamy jelly), which is just set. Carrying that to Uni and then trying to share it out- not going to happen.

So thinking out of the box brought me to chess pie- a recipe from Southern America. It is a rich and comforting custard pie, which is made up from ingredients you probably already have in the cupboard.

It’s definitely not my own recipe, because I’ve little to no experience with Deep South cooking beyond slow cooked barbeque pulled pork (cooked in coke, the absolute dream).

It produces a smooth and creamy pie, which to be honest, is a bit sweet for my tastes, and if I was making it again I would add a few tbsp of cocoa powder to cut the sweetness. The texture is amazing though, and it’s so quick to throw together.

As for the episode- it is literally so difficult to predict how everyone is going to get on! People who are top one minute can end up getting chucked out the next week, I’ve nearly completely given up trying to choose a favourite because when I do, they get thrown out the next week. (Am I some sort of bad omen?)

Delighted for Tamal this week though, he’s such a darling and he’s amazing. I’m still trying to figure out how he did those apple roses in week 1.

Anyway, onto the chess pie. It appears to have no relation to chess, and contains vinegar. How odd.

For the pastry, follow the pastry recipe for the frangipane tart. I blindbaked for a couple of minutes before pouring the filling in.

The recipe I used for the filling can be found here, but I added a tsp of cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg, to add another flavour dimension. Comes together in a couple of minutes, and you probably won’t even have to go to the shop to get the ingredients.

  

Here’s hoping next week I don’t have to bastardise the concept so much. It’s getting to me. Damn Catholic guilt.

4 thoughts on “Bakealong- Fair game

  1. I have NO idea what GBBO but damn girl does your pie look BEAUTIFUL.

    This is hilarious because I’m from America (the north) and the only time I ever ate chess pie was when I made it so I have no idea if it’s really supposed to be as sweet as it is!! 😂

    Your photos are just 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so lovely! I don’t know if I’m getting old and my taste buds are maturing or whatever (God forbid) but I found it far far too sweet. I didn’t think that concept even existed for me-I’m a caramel on erything kind of girl

      Like

  2. I can definitely see a game pie not going down well at uni! Although I was tempted by a couple of the recipes on the show. The tennis cake was definitely odd. I’ve made sugar paste, a very long time ago, but I’m not sure that I’d really love a cake with that much of it. Love marzipan and fruitcake, not sure about the rest.

    I was delighted to see Tamal get star baker at last. That means he’s going out next week, doesn’t it? 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, passing a hunk of rabbit pie across in the lecture theatre mightn’t make me very popular. It was so bizarre wasn’t it? The fruit cake itself looked divine but it was a strange one. But I suppose that’s the point of the technical, to be obscure so nobody has really heard of it? I know 😢😢 hopefully not, he’s so lovely. I literally feel so inadequate when I remind myself he’s a doctor and is such a fab baker. I’m like what am I doing with my life?haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

