Free-From Flop; GBBO Bakealong

baking, gbbo, recipes

So this week was the FreeFrom Week of Great British Bakeoff.

I probably shouldn’t be telling you this, given the disaster that was my bake this week- but I’ve had a fair bit of experience with FreeFrom baking.
I spent a summer working in America and lived with my Aunt, Uncle and their children. Their youngest had LOTS of allergies. Eggs, dairy, gluten. At one point even soy.
And he was only two so making everyone else cookies and telling him he couldn’t have one was not an option.

Neither was not baking. Obviously.

I really like the idea behind FreeFrom week because baking for people with intolerance is on the rise. But I kind of thought the first challenge was a bit silly- why make a sugar free cake but replace sugar with syrup/honey? Who are you catering for then? Not diabetics surely, honey would cause the same insulin spike as sugar? So I decided if I was going to make a cake sugarfree, it would also have to be something-else free.

Dairy free I decided, because there is a lovely girl in my year who always has to say no to my offers of bakes every week because of her lactose intolerance (and me being the sensitive soul I am, I forget every week and offer again).

But anyway, the cake was an absolute disaster. I’ll write a separate blogpost about it this week so you all get a good laugh over exactly how crap it was. Don’t let the picture deceive you, I just photographed the one corner of the cake that even vaguely held together.

(still tastes good though)

Enough of that.
GBBO this week was brilliant (am I ever going to say otherwise?). Alvin did amazingly sticking to his guns in the first challenge even though his looked so unimpressive in comparison to the others.
I was delighted for Nadiya- she really doesn’t have much faith in herself and she did absolutely brilliantly this week!
Prison Paul’s vaguely obscene lady on the beach was equal parts fabulous and disturbing.
And Ugne was a surprise- I honestly thought she would be amazing at FreeFrom baking because of her healthy lifestyle etc. But god help her, it wasn’t really her week.


So this isn’t the sugarfree Courgette and Honey cake that was intended.

But these brownies genuinely come together in 5 mins (made them at 7am half asleep this morning). They contain FIVE ingredients, that you probably already have in the cupboard.
They are gluten-free, dairy-free and white sugar free (used molasses sugar).

And they aren’t half bad.

(Brownies are alright for breakfast right?)

FreeFrom Brownies

Ingredients
-1/2 cup vegetable oil
-1 cup molasses sugar (swap this out with a cup of xylitol for sugar free option)
-2 large eggs
-1/3 cup cocoa powder
-1/2 cup cornflour (the stuff for thickening sauces, it works an absolute dream I promise)

Method
1. Mix sugar, oil and eggs together until you make a smooth (gloopy) batter.
2. Add cocoa powder and cornflour and mix to form a smooth batter.
3. Pour into a greased brownie tin and bake at 170C for 20 minutes, when the edges of the brownies begin to pull away from the tin.
4. Cool (or eat still warm and gooey with a cold glass of milk), slice and eat. Best not to offer your lactose intolerant friend milk though, they mightn’t thank you for it 😑i

3 thoughts on “Free-From Flop; GBBO Bakealong

Leave a Reply

