Loafing around 

baking, recipes

Ok so first, apologies for the title. I couldn’t help myself. You were saved from much worse puns trust me.

Although I do feel like Dorret really missed out on a big opportunity to call her messy bed Showstopper “You’ve made your bread, now sleep in it”. Just saying.

So last night was Bread Week. I LOVE bread week. Baking bread is so much fun; kneading so therapeutic, the excitement of seeing the bread rise and prove, and that fresh bread scent that just fills the house, corner to corner.

I can tell you’re looking at my chocolate quick loaf going, well you haven’t even used yeast, what are you on about?

I found the challenges a bit, well, challenging to be honest this week. Quick bread means no yeast, so no kneading 😢

And you have to take into consideration here that I take in my bakes to share at uni the next day: delightful though they may be I’m not sure sharing a baguette out in class would be popular, or practical. The same can be said for the showstopper. I looked odd enough carrying the world’s biggest Tupperware down the street this morning, never mind trying to transport a bicycle or a lion made of bread.

So I’m holding out for enriched dough week for my proper bread fix! Fingers crossed.

In the meantime I had the dilemma of Quick Bread. Which according to Wikipedia (fountain of all knowledge) is “Quick bread is any bread leavened with leavening agents other than yeast or eggs.
Quick breads include many cakes, brownies and cookies—as well as banana bread, beer bread, biscuits, cornbread, muffins, pancakes, scones, and soda bread.”

Riiiiiight. So basically most baked goods. Excellent.

Well I could at least make it loaf shaped.

And not a brownie. I feel like that would be taking the p***.

And so came into being my chocolate quick bread with white chocolate and salted caramel drizzle. Because salted caramel on anything is amazing.

As for the actual episode (rather than me rambling about my quick bread crisis). Again I loved Sandi because she’s impossible not to adore. Flora, unfortunately for her, comes across as slightly overconfident which I know is just to do with her class and upbringing (actually being able to admit you’re good when you are- imagine that!). She’s still amazing at everything. And her Instagram is a dream.

It was definitely Dorret’s time to go, god bless her but you don’t go on GBBO and not have practised your showstopper?

But anyway, down to it.

Get some chocolate, covered it in salted caramel, pop in a loaf tin and call it bread. Then you can eat it for breakfast. And second breakfast. Maybe lunch….and afternoon tea? Ok maybe that’s just me.


Chocolate loaf cake (derived from Nestle Loaf Cake recipe- https://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/130390/delicious-chocolate-quick-bread/)

Ingredients 

-1/2 cup softened butter 

-1 cup granulated sugar 

-2 large eggs

-1 cup natural yoghurt, thinned out slightly with milk- say 3/4 cup yoghurt, 1/4 milk (or buttermilk if you have some)

-1/2 Tsp baking powder 

-1/2 tsp baking soda 

– 1 and 1/2 cups plain flour 

-1/2 cup cocoa powder

-1/2 cup white chocolate chips (mine melted but they were in there. Promise.)

Topping

condensed milk (try not to open this and spoon it out of the jar prior to baking 😳😳😳)

-1/2 quantity of dark brown sugar and butter. By this I mean if you have two cups of condensed milk, add 1 cup butter, 1 cup dark brown sugar. I used 1 cup condensed milk (because I ate a lot of it). To 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup condensed milk. But use the whole can rather than throwing some out of you have it!

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 C and line a loaf tin with baking parchment.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition.
  4. Add flour, baking soda and baking powder, mixing well, and add the yoghurt when it starts to come together. Mix until a nice even chocolate batter.
  5. Add white chocolate chips and fold into the batter evenly.
  6. Dollop into your tin and pop in the oven. It should take between 45 mins and an hour. If it begins to brown too quickly, put some foil over the top until baked through and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool.
  8. When the loaf is cooled and ready for drizzle, place your butter, condensed milk and brown sugar and allow to melt, then bring to boil slowly while mixing. Allow to bubble for a few minutes (3/4) and add sea salt to taste. I used around a teaspoon. Drizzle liberally with the fudgy salted caramel sauce and some melted chocolate if you like.
  9. Pop in the fridge to set if you can wait!
  10. Eat. You probs don’t need instructions on how to.

Follow me on snapchat at mkm27 for more bakealong nonsense, or keep up to date on Caityskitchen Facebook or Instagram. 🙂



Leave a Reply

