Flipping right

Uncategorized

IMG_3174-2

Alright, so I know pancakes are nothing novel. Most people have had a go at them at one point or another. But what’s your perfect pancake?

Thin crêpes? Sprinkled with sugar and lemon juice? Slathered with nutella and melty marshmallows?

Thick, fluffy American pancakes, drizzled in maple syrup and topped with crispy bacon?

The something-in-between Scottish/Northern irish pancake that’s sold in plastic packs, toasted and topped with pools of melted butter and a thick layer of jam?

Or something more wholesome? Oaty pancakes, protein pancakes, gluten free but flour pancakes?

I’ve probably tried my hand at all of the above at some stage or another.

To be honest I don’t get too excited about fancy recipes. I’m not really one for weighing things too excitedly in the morning when I’m hungry.

My basic recipe (as per the fab Jamie Oliver) goes; A cup (not specifically an American cup, a builders mug will do) of flour, a cup of milk and an egg. Mix until just combined. Fry in butter. Obviously I tweak this, to make thing crepe like pancakes I add more milk. Thicker, fluffier pancakes get self raising flour, a teaspoon of baking powder. Sometimes I’ll separate the egg yolks and whites and beat the whites until foamy, then fold in for an added lift. Mostly not ☺️

Another way I get a bit of height in my pancakes is to use baking soda and something acidic, such as natural yoghurt or buttermilk. A half teaspoon of baking soda and 4 tablespoons of yoghurt should do it.

Add less milk for a thicker batter that makes taller pancakes. Experiment. See what you like.

I ALWAYS add sugar to the batter because I’ve got the sweetest tooth, but go with what you like. Chocolate chunks thrown into the batter before cooking work amazingly as they go all melty inside as the pancake cooks. It’s your choice (but chocolate is always the right choice).

And for when you’re feeling a healthier breakfast option. I always use my go to oaty banana pancakes.


Banana oat pancakes 

Serves 2 normal people or one greedy me.

Ingredients
1 cup of oats (American cup but I don’t get too pedantic)
1 ripe banana
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
Sweetener of choice (eg honey, maple syrup, or none if your banana is sweet enough for your tastes)
Around a cup of milk of choice (eg cows, almond milk)
Method-

1. Blend your oats in a blender (I use my boyfriends because I don’t have one but he doesn’t often get any pancakes) until they form oat flour. Do this for longer than you might think to get a better open texture to your pancakes. If you like whole oats blend for a shorter amount of time but the pancakes will be more fragile and difficult to work.
2. Add the banana, baking powder, sweetener, egg and a cup of milk. Blend until smooth. If the batter is too thick add more milk, but it’s easier to make these pancakes if the batter is a quite thick consistency and drops slowly off a spoon.
3. Fry the pancakes in an pan sprayed with oil of choice, keeping them fairly small to aid flipping. They are more fragile than flour pancakes because of the lack of gluten but after a few you should get the hang of it.
4. Devour and enjoy!


Ps sometimes I do the baking soda and yoghurt, and beaten egg whites tricks with these pancakes too when I’m feeling fancaaay so feel free 😊 Also flavour with whatever you’ve got, eg vanilla/cinnamon/fruit 

2 thoughts on “Flipping right

  1. Seriously….not to sound all crazy fangirl but I think you’re my foodie twin hehe
    That is the same pancake recipe I use!
    Thank you Mr Oliver :-p
    I love mine thin with heaps of lemon and sugar!

    Like

    1. Awwwh that’s so cute @busykitchenmum! Having a foodie twin is my idea of heaven. That’s where it’s from!!! Couldn’t for the life of me remember. I’ll credit him now, I remember years ago watching a programme and this recipe stuck with me, but not the programme haha. Mr Oliver is a genius 😊 I love it, it’s as simple as explaining how you make a cup of tea.
      Mmmm I like literally any pancake, as long as I get to put it in my mouth haha. Nutella and fresh fruit are a winner though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

