Symmetry Breakfasts

recipes

Symmetry Breakfasts.

It’s a phenomenom that swept across Instagram when a fella started photographing the breakfasts he made for himself and his boyfriend, after the breakfast he made one morning was symmetrical by chance. It helps that he’s obviously a fantastic cook, a trained IMG_3110photographer, has an amazing array of plates, cutlery, a fancy coffee machine, and a gorgeous scrubbed wood dinner table.

But all the same. What’s stopping us recreating symmetry breakfasts at home?

At home last weekend, I thought I’d treat the parents to breakfast in bed (I get up earlier than my parents; when did this start happening?). While the food was cooking I was doing my usual early morning Instagram feed scroll. And as usual the symmetry breakfast’s post stood out. The inner OCD part of me loves it.

And so my parent’s bacon sarnie became grilled maple smoked bacon on homemade sunflower seed bread with fig chutney (it always was, I didn’t just chuck out the Denny’s, ketchup and builders baps). And my appetite for symmetry breakfasts was born. Wasn’t all that appreciated though; my Mum after seeing the picture I’d taken, said it didn’t look much like the breakfast she’d eaten. I wonder if Michael Zee (who created the symmetry breakfasts) has the same problem with his partner?

So I’m going to be having a go at making my own symmetry breakfasts in the future- only the weekends though because porridge is all I have IMG_3379energy for during the week.

One major drawback is when your food starts getting a bit cold because you’re standing on a chair jumping around trying to get the best angle- so all the food needs to come together at the last minute. Your lighting needs to be sorted, and your impatient dining partner placated.

Oh and you have bloody loads of washing up to do.

Also, the recipe for the banana coconut muffins which I posted about in todays symmetry breakfast;
Makes 2 large muffins-
1/2 very ripe banana
1 egg
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
Sweetener to taste (brown sugar, maple syrup etc)
A pinch of cinnamon
1 heaped tbsp of coconut flour
1/2 tsp of baking powder
Pinch of salt

1) Mash banana and mix with rest of wet ingredients.
2) Mix dry ingredients
3)Combine wet and dry ingredients until just combined.
4)Pour into muffin cases, top with sprinkle of oats and a slice of banana.
5)Pop in the oven at 180C for 20-25 mins until a toothpick put into the centre comes out clean.
Ps. If the mix appears too dry add a bit of greek yoghurt/ milk to loosen it up to a spoonable consistancy. Also choc chips would be amazing, I just didn’t have any to hand. Serve with greek yoghurt, as it is in the nature of coconut flour to be a tad drying on the palate.

So keep an eye on my Instagram- username is caityskitchen for my meager attempts at symmetry breakfast and just pictures of things I eat (very exciting I know). Also I know the plates in the first one don’t match. Please let me off this one time?

Lots of love,

Caity

xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

